Prison sentences for 15 politicians in KCK Case

  • actual
  • 09:56 21 February 2024
  • |

MÊRDÎN - In the KCK Case, which has been ongoing in Mêrdîn since 2014, 15 Kurdish politicians, including former Deputy Gülser Yıldırım, were sentenced to prison terms ranging from 6 years 3 months to 7 years 6 months on the allegation of "membership in a terrorist organisation".

In Mêrdîn in 2014, decision hearing of the case filed against Kurdish politicians, Nazım Kök, Davut Bozan, İpek Güneş, Ayşe Bozan, Ziver Gümüş, İsa Durç, Lokman Ekenek, Abdulkadir Aktaş, Erdal Irmak, Davut Şahin, Musa Alkan, Sedat Dağ, Mesut Amak, former Deputy Gülser Yıldırım and Genco Akman was held. While lawyers were present at the hearing of the case filed regarding the establishment of City Councils at Mardin 2nd High Criminal Court yesterday, Kurdish politicians did not attend the hearing.
The court asked the prosecutor's office to explain its opinion. The prosecutor claimed that for the City Councils, which the politicians stated were established within the scope of the Democratic Regions Party (DBP) statute, "the statutes and bylaws related to the City Assembly were found to be of the same nature and written by the same author in many unrelated investigations and in many provinces." The prosecutor continued: " It is clear that continuous, diverse and intense activities as described within the City Council can occur with hierarchy and loyalty within an organizational structure. In this way, it is understood that the actions of the people in the City Council structure coincide with the crime of Membership of a Terrorist Organization regulated in Article 314/2 of the Turkish Penal Code in terms of achieving the purpose of the organization." The prosecutor's office wanted the politicians to be punished in this context.
Announcing its decision after the defence of the lawyers, the court sentenced 15 politicians to prison on the grounds of "membership in a terrorist organization". Lokman Ekenek, Davut Şahin, Nazım Kök, Ziver Gümüş, Davut Bozan, İpek Güneş, Ayşe Bozan were sentenced to 7 years and 6 months, Musa Alkan, İsa Durç were sentenced to 6 years 10 months and 15 days,  Gence Akman, Sedat Dağ, Gülser Yıldırım, Mesut Amak, Abdulkadir Aktaş, Erdar Irmak were sentenced  6 years and 3 months by the court.